Bleau Wins First Of Year Saturday In Monadnock Modifieds

WINCHESTER, N.H. – Trevor Bleau rocketed to victory Saturday at Monadnock Speedway, piloting the Gomarlo Supermarket 76 to victory lane in the night’s 35-lap NHSTRA Modified main event.

By Gary Dutton


With only a week remaining in the high-banked speedplant’s busy 2021 racing season, Bleau was one of two first-time feature winners this summer, as Claremont Mini Stock star Haydon Grenier scored his first career victory at the fabled quarter-mile.

Tim Wenzel rocked the action-packed Street Stock feature. Pure Stock ace Nick Houle won for the eighth time this season, and Young Gun Teagan Edson earned her second victory lap in as many weeks, and fourth of the year.

Bleau took the lead in the caution-free Modified feature on lap 13, using the low line to drop two-time winner Tyler Leary to second. Todd Patnode then used the same move to claim the deuce on the 24th go-round but ran out of laps in his quest for victory, still leaving the speedway comfortably atop the points parade. Bleau is the sixth different Modified winner this season.

A grinding wreck on the final turn between Leary and Solomon Brow shifted the final finish. Their demise moved steady Cory Plummer up to the bronze medal finish, just ahead of Matt Kimball, who struggled with tire wear over the final dozen laps.

In the Street Stock main, Chris Lindquist held the point until Wenzel took charge on lap 18 and then sped off to his third victory of the summer, his first since back-to-back wins in June.

Lindquist came up just short of earning his first victory lap, taking the checkers second, just ahead of rock-solid Kenny Thompson. Points leader Nate Wenzel was fourth on the night, while Hillary Renaud, victorious a week earlier, finished fifth.

Haydon Grenier, the King of Claremont, took the lead from Louie Maher on lap 16 of the Mini Stock feature and then blasted off to his first career win on the high banks, adding the victory to 11 wins so far at his home track.

Maher, who entered the night holding a scant two-point advantage over ten-time winner Gordon Farnum, boosted his championship advantage with the night’s runner-up finish, taking the checkers just ahead of former champ Tim LeBlanc.

Farnum, meanwhile, suffered another late-season heartbreak, bounced around and out twice before being credited with 12th, twenty points further behind Maher.

The Pure Stock feature drew a red flag five seconds after it had started, as the front-row bull and jam sent polesitter Chris Higbee rolling side-over-side through turn two and then skidding along the bachchute on his roof. Fortunately, Higbee walked away from his battered racecar uninjured.

Once under green again, the 25-lapper went caution free the rest of the way, with Nature Boy Nick Houle – charging from row three – leading all the way to score his eight win of the season. Teen blaster JD Stockwell was rock solid in third, and Claremont regular Kyle Templeton, a former champion there, was impressive in third.

Hometown Pure Stock ace Chris Davis finished quietly in fourth, just ahead of Jason LeRay.

In a division made up off young talent too young to have driver’s licenses, Teagan Edson took charge of the Young Guns feature on lap five and sped off to her fourth win of the summer. Steady Zach Zilinski was second, and week-five winner Aaliyah Tacy third.

Jaffrey’s Bob Donahue won the STAR Antique Racers Modified feature, leading Richard Trempe under the checkers. Bob Harless, racing out of Fishkill, N.Y., won the STAR Sportsman 15-lapper. Colton Martin topped a thin field of Mini Cup racers.

            Monadnock Speedway concludes its successful 2021 season next Saturday with the running of the Bob Whitcomb 125 NHSTRA Modified Quest for the Cup, a large Enduro and much more. Post time for the September 18 season finale is 2 p.m., with the following day set as its rain date.




NHSTRA MODIFIED: Trevor Bleau, Todd Patnode, Cory Plummer, Matt Kimball, Scott MacMichael, Brian Chapin, Aaron Fellows, Kimmy Rivet, Tyler Leary, Solomon Brow.


STREET STOCK: Tim Wenzel, Chris Lindquist, Rupert Thompson, Nate Wenzel, Hillary Renaud, Chris Buffone, Eddie Brehio III, Scott Zalinsky, Matt Robinson, Keith Johnson.


MINI STOCK: Haydon Grenier, Louie Maher, Tim LeBlanc, Jake Puchalski, Jeff Asselin, Ray King, Jeff Heath, Matt Lambert, Josh Hubbard, Pat Houle.


PURE STOCK: Nick Houle, JD Stockwell, Kyle Templeton, Chris Davis, Jason LeRay, Dylan Zullo, Jimmy Zellman, Matt Croteau, Eddie Petruskevicious, Brianna Patnode.


YOUNG GUNS: Teagan Edson, Zach Zilinsky, Aaliyah Tacy, Eddie Gomarlo, Dominick Stafford.

Michelle Cloutier
Track Operations Manager

Monadnock Speedway

Total Page Visits: 26 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Comment