New London-Waterford Speedbowl Results From July, 31, 2021

WATERFORD — It took defending SK Modified champion Tim Jordan more than two months to post his first 2021 win of the season. Now that he’s found the key to victory lane, however, he’s not about to lose it.

Jordan surged past Mike Christopher Jr. on a lap 10 restart on his way to his second consecutive win Saturday to highlight the action at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl.

In other action, Ray Christian won his fourth 30-lap Late Model feature, Jason Chapman nailed down his first SK Lite Modified win, and Jared Roy took the lead early and held on to win the 25-lap Mini Stock feature. Randy Burr grabbed his first 35-lap Truck win of the season, Jordan Churchill held off his teammate John O’Sullivan for a victory in the 20-lap Legends feature and Christopher Buffone finally figured out a way to get by Bo Norman with seven laps remaining to prevail in the 25-lap Open Street Sock feature.
While Jordan took the lead on lap 10, the turning point of the race took place a few laps earlier. Adam Gada and Jordan were fighting for second place when the two cars made contact. Jordan was able to dive down through the infield grass and come back on the asphalt to maintain his second place spot behind Christopher.

A few laps later, he beat Christopher on a restart to grab the lead for good. Christopher held on for second while Rob Janovic finished third.
“Racing against Mike Christopher is a lot of fun,” said Jordan, explaining his race winning move. “You know he’s going to race you clean. He’s a great competitor.”

Christopher said he had a good car, considering that he was using old tires that had plenty of laps on them. They were well past the expiration date.

Jordan has finished in the Top 10 in seven of the eight races this year and moved to fourth place in the standings, only 13 points behind point leader Todd Owen.

Christian has the hot hand in the Late Model division, winning for the fourth time in five races. Jaret Curtis, making only his forth Speedbowl start, finished second.

“We haven’t done too much to the car in the last few weeks,” Christian said. “We haven’t needed to. The  car is jus real good.”

Curtis maneuvered into second place midway through the race, but could not mount a serious challenge against Christian, who pulled to within two-points of leader Jason Palmer in the staandings.

Chapman started fourth in the SK Lite Modified feature, but quickly waltzed through the field, rifling past Jake Hines to move in front.

“We waited so long for this,” Chapman said. “We finished in every possible position except for this one, so it was nice to finally get the win.
“The car felt amazing. We had a good starting position, but we were able to get through the field.”

Jonathan Puleo, the winner on July 24, finished second and Ethan Durocher was third.
Mini-Stock winner Jared Roy said the cooler weather Saturday may have helped him stay ahead of two of the division’s best, Chris Garside and Charles Canfield.

“The cool weather made a difference,” Roy said. “Plus I stayed smooth for the entire race.”
Roy had to be smooth to hold off Garside, who made a pair of bold moves in the middle of the race, but couldn’t torpedo his way past Roy.
“I had to be on top of things because all I needed to do was make one mistake, and Chris Garside would have gotten past me,” Roy said.
There was extra incentive in the Legends Race — extra cash put into the purse provided by the Racing Guys.

Churchill made an early move to grab the added dollars when he jumped in front of O’Sullivan.
“When you’re running against John, you know it’s going to be a battle,” Churchill said. “I felt I had a better long-run car than he did. We made a few adjustments right before the race and they seemed to work.”

Burr was the dominant truck in the 25-lap feature, darting in front early. No one seriously challenged him.

“I just got a lot of help from so many different people in the pits,” Burr said. “This place is awesome. I love running here.”

Josh Skimmer was second and Jim Boyle was third, taking over the point lead from Ken Cassidy Jr. in a tiebreaker. Boyle and Cassidy each have 224 points, but Cassidy has three wins to Cassidy’s two.

Buffone tried time after time to jack-knife his way under Bo Norman in the 25-lap Open Street Stock feature, but came up empty on each occasion. Finally with seven laps to go, Buffone was finally able to crowbar past Norman.
“Bo really made it tough for me,” Buffone said, “but the car was super fast. I can’t thank everyone enough.”

Racing continues Wednesday with the Super X-Cars, X-Cars, Legends, Bandoleros and the American Vintage Modified. Race time is at 7 p.m.

35-lap SK Modifieds: 1. Timmy Jordan, Plainfield; 2. Mike Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 3. Rob Janovic Jr, Waterford; 4. Joe Gada, Uncasville; 5. Cory DiMatteo, Farmington; 6. Dylan Izzo, Monroe; 7. Bill Anderson; 8. Todd Owen, Somers; 9. Glenn Pressel III. Bozrah; 10. Matt Vassar, Plantsville.
25-lap SK Lite Modifieds: 1 Jason Chapman, Ellington; 2. Jonathan Puleo, Branford; 3. Ethan Durocher, Canterbury,; 4. Paul Charette, Woodstock; 5. Wayne Burroughs, Oakdale, 6. John O’Sullivan III, Salem; 7. Jake Hines, North Haven; 8. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 9. RJ Marcotte, Millville; 10. Charlie McDougall, Naugatuck.
30-lap Late Model: 1. Raymond Christian. Uncasville; 2. Jaret Curtis, Rutland, Mass.; 3. Jason Palmer, Berlin; 4. Jordan Hadley, Waterford; 5. Keith Scalia, North Branford; 6. Chris Curtis, Rutland,, Mass.; 7. Tony Macrino, Waterford; 8. Diego Monahan, Quaker Hill; 9. RJ Marcotte, Millville, Mass.; 10. Michael Lindquist, Sandy Hook.
25-lap Mini Stocks: 1. Jared Roy, Sterling; 2. Christopher Garside, Groton; 3. Charles Canfield, East Haven,; 4. Douglas Curry, Groton; 5. Tommy Silva, Gales Ferry; 6. John Bavolacco, Stratford; 7. Nicholas Pappacoda, North Branford; 8. Bill Sylvia, Preston,; 9. Lawrence Loomis, Moosup; 10. Jesse Oloski, Salem,
25-lap Speedbowl Trucks: 1. Randy Burr, Middleboro; 2. Joshua Stringer, Dayville; 3. Jim Boyle, East Windsor 4. Todd Taylor, Stonington; 5. Ken Cassidy Jr., Lisbon; 6. Rick Ashlaw, Manchester,; 7. Brandon Hunt, East Windsor,; 8. Andrew Pellegrini, North Grosvenordale; 9. Mercedes Caron, East Hampton,; 10. Gee Perry, Granby.
20-lap Legends:  1. Jordan Churchill, Lisbon; 2. John O’Sullivan III, Salem; 3. Ed Ryan Jr., Preston; 4. Brody Monahan; Waterford; 5. Scott Kinsman, Berlin,; 6. Scott Limkemann, Lebanon.
25-lap Open Street Stocks: 1. Christopher Buffone, Belchertown, Mass.; 2. Bo Norman, Clinton; 3. Daniel Meyer, North Franklin; 4. Shawn Gaedeke, Groton,; 5. Joe Arena, Bristol,; 6. Scott Serydynski Jr.; 7. Al Stone III, Durham,; 8. Allen Coates, Ledyard,; 9. Chris Lindquist, Thetford Center, VT; 10.Ryan Waterman, Danielson,.

Total Page Visits: 100 - Today Page Visits: 2

Leave a Comment