Devil’s Bowl Speedway Announces Crate Engine Disqualification

WEST HAVEN, Vt. – Devil’s Bowl Speedway has announced that Super Stock competitor Andrew FitzGerald has been disqualified from his apparent victory on Saturday, May 22, and that penalties have been imposed. The actions come due to violations of the Vermont track’s strict General Motors “602 crate” engine rules.

FitzGerald crossed the finish line in first place following the 20-lap feature race for the Super Stock division on Saturday, and his engine was impounded. The apparent win was FitzGerald’s third in four starts in the 2021 season. An independent inspection was performed on Tuesday, May 25 at Hunt’s Machine in Schenectady, N.Y., which revealed that the sealed GM 602 crate engine had been altered, resulting in a clear advantage.

In accordance with Devil’s Bowl Speedway’s 2021 rulebook, FitzGerald has been disqualified from the event and stripped of all championship points accumulated in 2021. FitzGerald has also been fined $1,000 and suspended indefinitely from competition at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. The engine, which has non-bottlecap seals, has been confiscated.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway promoter Mike Bruno said that the track will remain steadfast on protecting the integrity of the crate engine program.

“We are proud of the reputation that Devil’s Bowl Speedway has concerning technical inspection, and we will do what we can to uphold it,” Bruno said. “We have pulled many crate engines over the years across our divisions, and this is the first one that has been out of spec. This is a clear violation, and we will not let it go.”

With the disqualification, original runner-up Chris Murray will inherit Saturday’s victory. Paul Braymer is officially the runner-up, followed by Josh Bussino, Mark Norris, and Kevin Elliott.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway hosts a big, two-night Memorial Day Weekend event with the “Northeast Crate Nationals” on May 29-30. Sportsman Modifieds will have first-round time trials and qualifying heats on Saturday night starting at 7:00 p.m., along with qualifying races for all of Devil’s Bowl’s weekly classes. Second-round time trials begin at 6:00 p.m. on Sunday night, followed by consolation races and a last-chance B-Main, as well as weekly division features and the season-opening race for the traveling Sprint Cars of New England tour.

The Sportsman Modified division will race 100 laps for a whopping $5,000 to win on Sunday night, and several drivers from outside the local Devil’s Bowl group are expected to invade for a shot at the big money.

Grandstand admission will be $20 for adults and $5 for children (12 and under). Tickets will be available online at and at the speedway on race day. Infield drive-in parking will be $25 for adults and free for kids, available at the speedway. Pit passes are $35 for members and $45 for non-members. Grandstand, infield, and pit area admission will be good for both days.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, Vt., four miles north of U.S. Route 4, Exit 2, and just 20 minutes from Rutland, Vt.  For more information, visit or call (802) 265-3112. Devil’s Bowl Speedway is on Facebook at, and on Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat at @DevilsBowlSpeed; follow the action using the #DevilsBowl hashtag.



Devil’s Bowl Speedway – West Haven, Vt.

Saturday, May 22, 2021


Super Stock Feature (20 laps)


# – denotes rookie

1.       (5) Chris Murray, Fair Haven, Vt.

2.       (6) Paul Braymer, Granville, N.Y.

3.       (9) Josh Bussino, Fair Haven, Vt.

4.       (7) Mark Norris, Benson, Vt.

5.       (2) Kevin Elliott, Rutland, Vt.

6.       (3) # Chuck Bradford, Addison, Vt.

7.       (1) Ronnie Alger, Orwell, Vt.

8.       (4) Josh LeClaire, Plattsburgh, N.Y.

9.       (10) # Griff Mahoney, Bristol, Vt.

Disqualified: (8) Andrew FitzGerald, West Rutland, Vt. (Engine)

Did Not Start (1): # Chris Brown, Shrewsbury, Vt.

Lap Leaders: Ronnie Alger, pole; Kevin Elliott, 1-4; Josh LeClaire, 5-18; Chris Murray, 19; Andrew FitzGerald, 20. (4 lead changes among 5 drivers)

Cautions (2): Laps 18, 18 [red].

Heat Winners: n/a

Sourcet: Justin St. Louis, Media Director

Total Page Visits: 40 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Comment